Skip to main content

Our Master plan

 

The Zoo Duisburg  master plan is a future concept that represents the operation of the zoo in such a way that it is set up in the best possible way under the existing framework conditions. It should provide a direction or guideline for the next 25 years. The master plan reflects the future strategic direction and is a flexible plan that is continuously processed and implemented. This does not include a new planning of the zoo, but a gradual processing of renovation and modernization measures including an increase in attractiveness.

 

Current projects

GEBAG Ant Colony in the Rio Negro

Project status: Completed in June 2021Project status: Completed in June 2021

The newly created living space for the ant colony extends over two floors and, thanks to its unusual design, blends perfectly into the existing landscape of the Rio Negro tropical hall. Converted wine barrels and wooden crates were transformed by hand with great attention to detail into unique ant dwellings. Transparent pipelines connect the individual components of the ants' colony with each other, providing fascinating insights into the world of the little rainforest inhabitants. "As a municipal housing company, GEBAG has the task of offering housing for everyone in Duisburg. Therefore, it was a special pleasure for us to make this unusual new project in Duisburg Zoo possible - and thus create living space for the minutest of beings. Watching the ants at work is really exciting," says GEBAG's managing director Bernd Wortmeyer enthusiastically.

 

Iguana Island in the Aquarium

Project status: Completed in August 2021

The new inhabitants of the approximately 120 m² covered Caribbean Hall have moved in and have settled into their new surroundings. Ivan, a 1.25-metre-long Cuban rock iguana, paved the way. Ivan belongs to an endangered species whose population is declining in its original habitat. Light-coloured sand, rocks and low-growing plants characterise the landscape-appearance of the exhibit. Another inhabitant of the new enclosure flutters above Ivan the Iguana: an inconspicuous, rusty-brown Socorro pigeon. The last time an example of this bird was observed in its original habitat was in 1972. Since then, the Socorro pigeon has been considered "extinct in the wild". It is only thanks to zoos that the species has survived under protected conditions. In this thematically-fitting landscape design, from a wooden walkway visitors to the new hall can also encounter Graham’s anoles, Jamaican boas and Cuban giant katydids, as well as the Cuban rock iguanas, Cuban tree rats and the Socorro pigeons.

The pheasantry becomes an outback aviary

Project status: Under construction

With the construction of the Outback Aviary, the Zoo is further expanding its Australian focus and creating space for new animal species. The scenery inside the enclosure will be reminiscent of Australian bushland. Yellow-footed rock wallabies will hop through the tall grass, plumed whistling ducks will take a refreshing dip in the watering hole in front of an abandoned farm, and multi-coloured parakeets will take a rest by the quietly babbling stream. Lone eucalyptus trees, grasses and rocks will dominate the landscape. The landscaping of the aviary, which measures around 630 m² and is up to 7 metres high, is in full swing. The course of the stream has been modelled, the larger rocks have been set in place and the preliminary work for the further design has begun. The artificial rock wall at the back of the aviary has also been erected. It will offer the rock kangaroo additional space to climb. The stable building, which has been erected outside the aviary and designed in the style of an abandoned farm, has already been built and the interior work is currently taking place.

New construction of a hay barn

Project status: in planning

Currently, there are no storage facilities for hay on the zoo grounds, which means that long delivery routes and times are regularly required. After completion of the new building of the service yard, a hay barn is to be built on part of the site of the old service yard. The hay barn will serve as a storage area for hay, straw and alfalfa.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Unser Masterplan

Der Masterplan des Zoo Duisburg ist ein Zukunftskonzept, das den Betrieb des Zoos so darstellt, dass er unter den bestehenden Rahmenbedingungen bestmöglich aufgestellt ist. Er soll eine Marschrichtung bzw. Leitlinie für die nächsten 25 Jahre vorgeben. Der Masterplan gibt die zukünftige strategische Ausrichtung wieder und ist ein flexibler Plan, der kontinuierlich bearbeitet und umgesetzt wird. Dieser beinhaltet keine Neuplanung des Zoos, sondern eine sukzessive Abarbeitung von Sanierungs und Modernisierungsmaßnahmen inkl. Attraktivitätssteigerung.

Aktuelle Projekte

GEBAG-Ameisen-Quartier im Rio Negro

Projektstatus: Fertiggestellt im Juni 2021

Der neu geschaffene Wohnraum für die Ameisengruppe erstreckt sich über zwei Etagen und gliedert sich dank der außergewöhnlichen Gestaltung nahtlos in die bestehende Landschaft der Tropenhalle Rio Negro ein. Umgebaute Weinfässer sowie Holzkisten wurden in Handarbeit und mit viel Liebe zum Detail in einzigartige Ameisen-Behausungen verwandelt. Durchsichtige Rohrleitungen verbinden die einzelnen Bestandteile des Ameisen-Quartiers miteinander und ermöglichen so faszinierende Einblicke in die Welt der kleinen Regenwaldbewohner. "Die GEBAG hat als kommunales Wohnungsunternehmen die Aufgabe, Wohnraum für Alle in Duisburg anzubieten. Daher war es uns eine besondere Freude, diesen ungewöhnlichen Neubau im Duisburger Zoo zu ermöglichen – und damit Wohnraum für die Allerkleinsten zu schaffen. Und den Ameisen bei ihrer Arbeit zuzusehen, ist wirklich spannend“, zeigt sich GEBAG-Geschäftsführer Bernd Wortmeyer begeistert.“.

Leguaninsel im Aquarium

Projektstatus: Fertiggestellt im August 2021

Die neuen Bewohner der rund 120 m² großen, überdachten Karibik-Halle sind eingezogen und haben sich an die neue Umgebung gewöhnt. Den Anfang machte Ivan, ein 1,25 Meter langer kubanischer Wirtelschwanzleguan. Dabei gehört Ivan zu einer gefährdeten Tierart, deren Bestände im ursprünglichen Lebensraum rückläufig sind. Heller Sand, Felsen und niedrig wachsende Pflanzen prägen das Landschaftsbild der Anlage. Über Leguan Ivan tummelt sich ein weiterer Bewohner der neuen Anlage: Eine unscheinbare, rostbraune Socorro-Taube. Letztmalig wurde ein Tier im Jahr 1972 im ursprünglichen Lebensraum beobachtet – seitdem gilt die Socorrotaube als „im Freiland ausgestorben“. Nur dank Zoos hat die Art unter geschützten Bedingungen überlebt. Eingefasst in eine thematisch passende Landschaftsgestaltung können Besuchende der neuen Halle von einem hölzernen Steg aus neben Wirtelschwanzleguan, Kuba-Baumratten und der Socorro-Taube außerdem Grahami-Anolis sowie Jamaika-Schlankboas und kubanische Blattschrecken begegnen.

Aus der Fasanerie wird eine Outback-Voliere

Projektstatus: Im Bau

Mit dem Bau der Outback-Voliere baut der Zoo seinen australischen Schwerpunkt weiter aus und schafft Platz für neue Tierarten. Die Szenerie im Inneren der Anlage wird an das australische Buschland erinnern: Gelbfuß-Felskängurus hüpfen durchs hohe Gras, in der Wasserstelle vor einer verlassenen Farm nehmen Sichelpfeifgänse ein erfrischendes Bad und die Vielfarbensittiche machen am leise plätschernden Bach Rast. Vereinzelte Eukalyptusbäume, Gräser und Felsen werden das Landschaftsbild prägen. Die Landschaftsgestaltung der rund 630 m² großen und bis zu 7 Meter hohen Voliere ist in vollem Gange. Der Bachlauf wurde modelliert, die größeren Felsen gesetzt und die Vorarbeiten für die weitere Gestaltung haben begonnen. Auch die Kunstfelswand im hinteren Bereich der Voliere wurde errichtet. Sie bietet den Felskängurus zusätzlichen Raum zum Klettern. Das Stallgebäude, das außerhalb der Voliere errichtet und im Stil einer verlassenen Farm gestaltet wird, ist bereits errichtet, zur Zeit findet der Innenausbau statt.